It is absolutely mandatory for drivers in Texas to carry proof of auto insurance. This law was passed by the state department of insurance to bring more drivers under insurance coverage, as nearly 20% of the drivers in Texas are uninsured. So, if you live in Texas, request a car insurance quote to receive several options to compare and choose the one that offers you the most extensive coverage in an affordable price.
Ways to get insured in Texas
The quickest and the easiest way to establish your financial responsibility in Texas is by purchasing an car liability policy. However, there are other ways to demonstrate this too.
- By obtaining vehicle liability coverage through a licensed service provider.
- By posting a surety bond that includes two individual who owns real property in Texas.
- By making a deposit of an amount of $55,000 in cash, check or securities of the same amount to the county judge or the comptroller.
- By achieving a certificate to prove that you are self-insured from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV). But this is only possible if you own more than 25 vehicles. Hence this is a good option for car dealers.
Texas requires the minimum liability coverage of 25/50/25 which means:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage for one person in a single accident
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage total per accident
- $25,000 property damage coverage per accident
How to prove you are covered?
Carry your insurance card whenever you are driving, to show it to law enforcement officers on demand. This card is also indispensable when you are applying for a driving license of getting your car registered and needless to mention—— in case you are involved in a car crash.
However, the legal body of Texas in association with the TxDMV and other similar agencies to establish TexasSure, an electronic insurance verification program that feed the insurance information to the system. This information can be directly accessed by the TxDMV and the law enforcement department. As long as the proper coverage is maintained you do not required to bother any further. You shall be informed as soon as your coverage lapses or is canceled for any reason.
Whenever you are sent a notice by the TxDMV, act fast and send proof of coverage to solve the problem.
Why do you need to compare Texas car insurance quotes?
You need to compare Texas car insurance quotes to pick up the best fit, with the most extensive coverage available for your budget.
Car insurance in Texas is based on many factors. Some of them are listed below:
- The age factor- Senior citizens often pay less for their car insurance.
- Driving records- A clean and disciplined driving record can play a major part in determining your auto insurance premiums. You drive well, you pay less.
- Gender- Women are considered to be more discipline drives and hence pay less.
- Loans- if your reluctant to pay loans or some bills, you may be charged more by your insurance provider, as they may doubt your capacity to pay on time.
- Location- If the area in which you reside is affected by car thieves, prone to earthquake or fire; you may have to pay more.
- You vehicle- if you vehicle is new, expensive, or is in the list of the most stolen cars, you could be required to pay more for insuring it.
You may get discount on the car insurance quotes if you
- Have a good and clean driving record
- Have been a good student through out( only for young drivers)
- Are a senior citizen
- Successfully completed the driving refresher course
- Installed car safety gadgets.
Coverage offered by auto insurance companies in Texas.
- Bodily injury Liability coverage- when you or your car is at fault in an accident, this type of coverage pays for the physical injuries suffered by the victims.
- Comprehensive coverage- this type of coverage repays for loss suffered by your car in vandalism, fire, earthquake, and theft. Anything other than a collision.
- Collision coverage- this coverage compensates for the loss suffered by you car in a collision.
- Gap insurance- bridges the gap between the price of your car and the car amount you still owe for your loan.
- Liability coverage- pays for the injuries or property damage of accident victims when you are at fault. However, it will not pay for your injuries.
- Personal injury protection coverage- compensates for the medical expenses in an accident regardless of fault.
- Physical damage coverage- pays to compensate the damage done to the body of your car.
- Rental car coverage- covers up your rented car against possible losses, due to collision, theft or any other hazards.
- Coverage against underinsured/uninsured motorist- pays for the losses you suffer if you are involved in a car crash with an uninsured or under insured driver.
What if you do not have car insurance?
Not having proper auto insurance in Texas may lead to suspension of your driver’s license and registration. If you decide to appeal the suspension, you need to do it within 20 days of the suspension at the address or contact number provided on your suspension notice. If you appeal, the procedure of suspension can be stopped, providing you with ample time to resume matters.
If you get suspended for a second time due to the lack of proper coverage, you car will be impounded for 180 days and you will be charged $15 dollars of each day your vehicle is held.
To reinstate your driving license or registration, you need to supply the proof of your current liability coverage or pay a reinstatement fee of around $175 to $350.